Why Journalism?

I get asked a lot what made me choose journalism for a career path. If you ask my parents, they would say it’s because I talk a lot, have a lot of opinions and I always think I’m right. Well, they aren’t completely wrong.

13247874_1107260709297004_8632242000881933836_o

Interviewing Verizon IndyCar Series driver Takuma Sato on 2016 Indianapolis 500 Media Day with my colleague, Ashley McCubbin // Hunter’s Landing, Toronto, May 24, 2016 // Photo: Kreistina Blinova

The truth is, everything my parents would say is right. I do talk a lot. I am opinionated, and let’s face it – I am always right. However, those aren’t the reasons I got involved in journalism.

I’ve had an interest in news from an early age, but it wasn’t something I always enjoyed. I grew up watching it every night at as a kid with my parents. Every night at 6:00, we’d turn on CTV Kitchener, and watch the local newscast. When I was really young, I hated it. As a six-year-old, the last thing I wanted to do was watch the news. I would’ve been much happier watching cartoons, or my favourite shows on Family Channel.

As I started getting older, my parents fell out of the routine of turning on the news every night. I began to miss it, so even without them turning on the news, I found myself flipping the TV to channel 12 every night at 6:00. I would watch Janine Grespan anchor the news, and suddenly, I became intrigued.

NASCAR

People who know me, know of my intense interest in auto racing, and NASCAR in particular. I had dreams of being a NASCAR driver as a kid, and even grew up racing go-karts from the time I was 10 until I was 15.

188985_100874133256362_5892303_n

Erbsville Kartway, Waterloo, ON, 2009

Unfortunately, racing costs a lot of money, and my parents just couldn’t afford to keep me in it, so I had to hang up my helmet after winning more than 20 races.

When I realized racing itself wouldn’t be a feasible career option for me, I turned to the journalistic side of racing. It’s always been a pipe-dream for me to be a play-by-play NASCAR or IndyCar commentator.

Through my writing for websites such as OnPitRoad.com, I have been rewarded media credentials at events such as:

  • 2016 Indianapolis 500 Media Day – Toronto, ON – May 24, 2016
  • 2016 Honda Indy – Toronto, ON – NASCAR Pinty’s Series, Verizon IndyCar Series – July 17-19, 2016
  • 2016 Chevrolet Silverado 250 – NASCAR Camping World Truck Series, NASCAR Pinty’s Series – Sept. 2-4, 2016

Back to ‘Why’

I think the simplest answer is because without media whether it’s TV, radio, online or newspapers, we would live in a basic world where people just wouldn’t be informed. It’s important that people know what’s going on in the world. Journalists keep people informed. Maybe I’m not a surgeon or an emergency responder. Maybe I’m not literally saving lives, but journalists make a difference, and I want to make a difference.

Leave a Reply

